Hope For Freedom

The smile quickly fades

when I hear your name.

The hairs on my arm; stand at attention

when I feel that you are near.

 

Again, you have intruded;

a robber in the night.

You stole my security,

My well-being,

You stole me from myself

out of your greed.

 

I am your puppet,

used only when you dare.

I am the barren horse you ride,

just for a lark.

 

And when I am left alone, my bed empty

in the dark,

I feel your presence;

I can feel your hands.

I see the bloodstains on my sheets

 

I see the scars; I trace over them.

The ones you left on me.

© 2017 Kristen Deukett.  Your Abditory Blog

Leave a Reply

